Founders of the Armenian Revolutionary Federation


Կարդալ Հայերէն

Founded in 1890, the programme of the Armenian Revolutionary Federation (Hai Heghapokhakan Dashnaktsutyun) is based on social justice, democracy and national self-determination for the Armenian people.

The ARF-Dashnaktsutyun led the effort toward the establishment of the first Armenian Republic in 1918 and was the party in power for the duration of its existence. Following the Sovietization of Armenia in 1920, the ARF-Dashnaktsutyun was banned by the Communists and its leadership exiled.

In the Diaspora, the ARF-Dashnaktsutyun fought Soviet rule over Armenia and championed the cause of Armenian rights and independence; it played a leading role in organizing a social and cultural framework aimed at preserving the Armenian identity.

The ARF-Dashnaktsutyun officially re-emerged in Armenia during the dissolution of the USSR, in 1990.

On December 28, 1994, the activities of the ARF-Dashnaktsutyun were “temporarily suspended” by the Armenian authorities. In view of the political nature of the anti-ARF interdictions by the Armenian authorities, the ARF continued to operate in Armenia. On February 9, 1998, less than a week after the resignation of the then president Ter-Petrossian, the Justice Ministry lifted the ban on the ARF-Dashnaktsutyun.

The ARF-Dashnaktsutyun is internationally recognized as a major political force both in Armenia, Artsakh and in Armenian communities worldwide.